13 Nations Get Canada Visa-Free Entry With a Catch

Canada broadens visa-free travel to 13 more nations via eTA, replacing visitor visas. The simplified online application process cuts waiting times from weeks to minutes and offers cost savings compared to traditional visa fees.

Ethiopia Travel Tips  to Know in 2023

Introduction to Canada's Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA)

Canada's Electronic Travel Authorization, commonly known as eTA, is an online application process. This authorization is specifically designed for individuals from 57 visa-exempt countries and 10 British overseas territories who intend to visit Canada for tourist or business purposes for a maximum stay of six months.

Notably, those who are flying into Canada are required to obtain an eTA, while travellers arriving by car, bus, train, or boat are exempt from this requirement. This eTA necessity extends to European Union passport holders, as well as citizens from Iceland, Lichtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Switzerland, Vatican City State, and the United Kingdom.

Traditionally, only Brazilian passport holders were eligible for the eTA among those who typically required a Canadian visa. However, the eligibility criteria have been expanded to include 13 additional countries. 

It is essential to note that eTA applicants from visa-required countries must meet a specific condition: they must have held a Canadian visitor visa within the past decade or currently possess a valid nonimmigrant visa for the United States.

Countries Granted Visa-Free Access to Canada

Canada's Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) program has extended its accessibility to 13 additional countries that traditionally required a visa to enter Canada. These countries, in addition to Brazil, now have the privilege of visa-free access to Canada, facilitating easier travel for their citizens. The newly added nations are Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Costa Rica, Morocco, Panama, the Philippines, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Seychelles, Thailand, Trinidad and Tobago, and Uruguay.

How to apply for an eTA

To apply for an eTA, you will need to:

Ethiopia Travel Tips  to Know in 2023

  • Click on the "Apply now" button.
  • Create an account or sign in to your existing account.
  • Enter your passport information, contact information, and travel plans.
  • Answer a few questions about your health and criminal history.
  • Pay the eTA fee.
  • Review your application and submit it.

Once you have submitted your application, you will receive an email confirmation. If your application is approved, you will receive a second email with your eTA approval. Your eTA will be linked to your passport and will be valid for five years or until your passport expires, whichever comes first.

Here are some additional tips for applying for an eTA:

  • Make sure that your passport is valid for at least six months from the date you plan to enter Canada.
  • Be sure to enter your passport information accurately.
  • Answer the questions on the application form honestly and completely.
  • Pay the eTA fee using a valid credit or debit card.
  • Print out a copy of your eTA approval for your records.

Advantages of Canada's Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA)

The eTA program offers a number of advantages for both travellers and Canada as a whole.

For travellers

  • Simpler and more convenient application process: The eTA application process is entirely online and can be completed in minutes. There is no need to submit any physical documents or visit a visa office.
  • Faster processing time: eTA applications are typically processed within minutes of submission. This means that travellers can get their authorization almost immediately, without having to wait weeks or even months for a visa.
  • Lower cost: The eTA fee is affordable, which is significantly less than the cost of a traditional visitor visa.
  • More flexibility: The eTA is valid for five years or until the traveller's passport expires, whichever comes first. This means that travellers can use their eTA to make multiple trips to Canada during the validity period.

For Canada

  • Increased tourism: The eTA program makes it easier for travellers from visa-exempt countries to visit Canada. This is expected to lead to an increase in tourism, which can benefit the Canadian economy.
  • Stronger international relations: The eTA program shows that Canada is open and welcoming to visitors from around the world. This can help to strengthen Canada's international relations.

In addition to the above, the eTA program also helps to improve security by providing Canada with information about travellers before they arrive. This helps to identify potential risks and keep Canada safe.

Overall, the eTA program is a win-win for both travellers and Canada. It offers a number of advantages for both parties, and it is helping to make Canada a more attractive destination for visitors from around the world.

Expected benefits

The Canadian government expects that the expansion of the visa-free entry program will boost tourism and economic growth in a number of ways:

  • Increased tourism: Visa-free travel makes it easier and more affordable for people to visit Canada, which is likely to lead to an increase in tourism. This will benefit businesses in the tourism sector, such as hotels, restaurants, and attractions.
  • More business travel: Visa-free travel also makes it easier for businesses to send employees to Canada, which can lead to increased trade and investment.
  • Increased people-to-people ties: Visa-free travel makes it easier for people from different countries to visit each other, which can help to strengthen people-to-people ties and promote cultural understanding.

In addition to these economic benefits, the expansion of the visa-free entry program can also have a number of social benefits, such as:

  • Increased diversity: Visa-free travel can help to make Canada more diverse by making it easier for people from different countries to immigrate and visit.
  • Reduced costs: Visa-free travel can help to reduce the costs of travel for people from eligible countries. This can make it easier for them to visit family and friends in Canada, and to attend conferences and other events.
  • Improved quality of life: Visa-free travel can make it easier for people from eligible countries to live and work in Canada. This can improve their quality of life and contribute to the Canadian economy.


Which countries have been granted visa-free entry to Canada?

Thirteen nations have been granted visa-free entry to Canada, which is a positive development for travellers from those countries.

What is the "catch" mentioned in the headline?

The "catch" refers to certain conditions or requirements that these travellers must meet in order to enjoy visa-free entry to Canada. This could include limitations on the duration of their stay or specific purposes for their visit.

Can you provide more information about the specific nations that now have visa-free access to Canada?

The article should detail the names of the thirteen nations that have been granted visa-free entry to Canada and may include information about the specific conditions or limitations associated with this privilege.

How does this change in visa policies affect travellers from these countries?

Travellers from the thirteen nations may want to know how this change impacts their ability to visit Canada and what steps they need to take to ensure a smooth and enjoyable trip.

Are there any potential benefits for Canadians in this policy change?

It's worth exploring whether this policy change could lead to reciprocal benefits for Canadian citizens travelling to these thirteen nations.

Leave a comment


© eta-canada.info.

Apply eVisa