Canada Expands Visa-Free Travel, With a Catch

Canada is expanding its visa-free travel options by including an additional 13 countries in the electronic travel authorization (eTA) program. This initiative offers an efficient and convenient alternative to traditional visitor visas. Through a straightforward online application process.

Canada Expands Visa-Free Travel, With a Catch

Understanding Canada's Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA)

Canada's electronic travel authorization (eTA) is a hassle-free way to gain entry into the country. It can be conveniently obtained online for a modest fee. This eTA is applicable for individuals from select passport-holding nations planning trips to Canada for either business or tourism purposes, with stays of up to six months.

To be eligible for this eTA, travellers from 57 visa-exempt countries and 10 British overseas territories must apply if they are arriving in Canada by air. It is important to note that travellers entering Canada by car, bus, train, or boat do not require an eTA or a traditional travel visa.

EU passport holders, along with citizens from Iceland, Lichtenstein, Monaco, Norway, Switzerland, Vatican City State, and the UK, fall within this category of eTA-eligible travellers.

Previously, only one nation that required a Canadian visa, Brazil, was eligible for the eTA. However, 13 additional countries have now been included in this list.

Countries Gaining Visa-Free Access to Canada Through eTA

Canada's eTA program is extending visa-free access to an additional 13 countries, in addition to Brazil. The newly included nations are:

  1. Antigua and Barbuda
  2. Argentina
  3. Costa Rica
  4. Morocco
  5. Panama
  6. Philippines
  7. St. Kitts and Nevis
  8. St. Lucia
  9. St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  10. Seychelles
  11. Thailand
  12. Trinidad and Tobago
  13. Uruguay

These countries now have the opportunity to utilise the eTA program for simplified and efficient entry into Canada for purposes of business or tourism, with stays of up to six months, provided they meet the specified criteria and requirements.

Advantages of Canada's eTA Program

Canada's Electronic Travel Authorization (eTA) program offers several advantages for eligible travellers, making the entry process more convenient and efficient.

  • Lower cost: The eTA program is significantly less expensive than applying for a traditional visitor visa. The eTA and the visitor visa fees are both affordable.

  • More convenient: The eTA application process is much more convenient than the traditional visitor visa application process. The eTA application can be completed online in minutes, and approval is typically granted immediately. In contrast, the visitor visa application process can take several weeks or even months.

  • Faster processing time: The eTA application process is much faster than the traditional visitor visa application process. Once you have submitted your eTA application, you will typically receive a decision within minutes. In contrast, it can take several weeks or even months to receive a decision on a visitor visa application.

  • Increased tourism: The eTA program is expected to increase tourism to Canada by making it easier and more affordable for people from other countries to visit.

  • Stronger international relationships: The eTA program is also expected to strengthen Canada's international relationships by making it easier for people from other countries to visit Canada.

Overall, the eTA program offers a number of advantages over the traditional visitor visa application process. It is less expensive, more convenient, and faster.

Additional benefits:

  • Reduced paperwork: The eTA application process is much less paperwork-intensive than the traditional visitor visa application process. You only need to provide basic passport and payment information to apply for an eTA. In contrast, you need to submit a number of documents, including a passport, passport photos, a completed application form, and proof of funds, to apply for a visitor visa.

  • Online application: The eTA application process is entirely online, so you can apply from anywhere in the world with an internet connection. In contrast, the visitor visa application process can be more complex, depending on your country of citizenship.

  • Validity: The eTA is valid for five years, or until your passport expires, whichever comes first. This means that you can apply for an eTA once and use it for multiple trips to Canada within a five-year period. In contrast, a visitor visa is typically valid for six months from the date of issue.


Which 13 new countries is Canada extending visa-free travel to?

The specific list of the 13 countries benefiting from Canada's extension of visa-free travel can be found in official government announcements or immigration sources. The list may include various nations.

What does "visa-free travel with a catch" mean?

 Visa-free travel with a catch" indicates that while citizens of these countries may not require a traditional visa to enter Canada, there could be additional conditions, requirements, or restrictions to be aware of. These might pertain to the duration of stay, the purpose of the visit, or other specific criteria.

How can travellers from these countries find out about the conditions or "catch" associated with visa-free travel to Canada?

Travellers should refer to official sources, including the government's immigration website or embassy/consulate services for detailed information regarding the conditions and any requirements associated with visa-free travel to Canada.

What is the typical duration of stay allowed for visitors under the extended visa-free travel program to Canada?

 The permitted duration of stay may vary based on individual circumstances and the purpose of the visit. Travellers are advised to check official sources for the most accurate and up-to-date information on the duration of stay.

Are there any specific travel purposes or activities that are subject to additional conditions or restrictions under this program?

The conditions or restrictions may depend on the traveller's intended purpose, such as tourism, business, or family visits. To understand any specific conditions, travellers should consult official resources provided by the government.

When will these changes come into effect?

The effective date of these changes should be confirmed through official government announcements or immigration authorities. Travellers are encouraged to verify the timeline for the implementation of the extended visa-free travel program.

Is this extension of visa-free travel a permanent change, or is it for a limited time?

The permanency or duration of this extension may vary and is typically specified by the government when announcing the changes. Travellers should consult official sources for information on whether the extension is permanent or temporary.

Leave a comment



Apply eVisa